NHPCO and NHF Salute 2013 Circle of Life Award® Winners

For Immediate Release:
July 26, 2013

Award Celebrates Innovation in Palliative and End-of-life Care

(Alexandria, Va) – National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization and the National Hospice Foundation honor the recipients of the 2013 Circle of Life Award® presented today in San Diego. The award celebrates innovation in end-of-life care and this year’s awards highlight programs that share overriding themes of creating and championing the role of palliative care throughout all parts of the healthcare system.

2013 Circle of Life Winners:

  • The Denver Hospice, Denver, Colorado
  • Hertzberg Palliative Care Institute, Mount Sinai Medical Center, New York, New York
  • UnityPoint Health, Iowa and Illinois

In addition to the three award winners, AHA presented Citations of Honor to other exemplary care providers:

  • Gundersen Health System, La Crosse, Wisconsin
  • Hospice and Palliative Care Program, Department of Veterans Affairs, Washington, DC
  • Hospice of Dayton, Dayton, Ohio
  • Nathan Adelson Hospice, Las Vegas, Nevada
  • North Shore University Hospital Palliative Care Program, Manhasset, New York

Award recipients will be honored today at a ceremony at the American Hospital Association’s (AHA) annual summit in San Diego.

“These programs serve as models for us all as we move forward in our shared goal of providing the highest quality of care for all those facing serious and life-limiting illness,” said J. Donald Schumacher, NHPCO and NHF president and CEO.

“Hospice providers play a significant role in making palliative care services available to patients and family caregivers and I’m so proud that seven of this year’s honorees are NHPCO members. Additionally, the work NHPCO has been doing with the Department of Veterans Affairs is an important part of our work improving access to care,” added Schumacher.

NHPCO and NHF celebrate the work of all these award and citation recipients and applaud them for the work they are doing to advance the highest quality hospice and palliative care.

The 2013 awards are supported, in part, by the California Healthcare Foundation and the Cambia Health Foundation.  In addition to NHPCO and NHF, other major sponsors of the awards are the AHA, the Catholic Health Association. The Alliance for Excellence in Hospice and Palliative Nursing, the American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine, and the National Association of Social Workers are cosponsors. The Circle of Life Award is a program administered by the Health Research & Educational Trust.

Since 2000, the Circle of Life Award has honored programs that demonstrate excellence and innovation in palliative and end-of-life care.Further information about the honorees and the Circle of Life Award is available at the AHA website.


Jon Radulovic
NHPCO vice president of communications
Ph: 703-837-3139